All meeting reports in Read are assigned a single owner, who has full permission over the report. Meeting report owners can do everything that editors can do, as well as delete the report. Nobody else has permission to delete the report, instead they can "Remove report" which just revokes their own access and removes it from their list of reports.
The meeting report owner also determines which settings are applied to a report (e.g. whether transcription and recording are enabled on the call, the sharing settings for who else will automatically get access, etc.).
- How can I tell who the owner is?
- Can I change the owner?
- How is the owner decided?
- What happens if the report owner is on a free plan but I'm on a paid plan?
How can I tell who the owner is?
You can see who the owner for a report is by looking at the "Owner" column on the Meeting Reports page, or if you have edit permission on the report, by clicking on the "Share" button in the top right of the report page.
Can I change the owner?
No, once the meeting report is generated, the owner cannot be changed.
How is the owner decided?
Meeting reports can only be owned by someone who invited Read to the meeting. If you are the only person who invited Read to the meeting, then you will be the owner by default.
If multiple people invited Read to the same meeting, then there is an algorithm to choose the optimal owner. Going down the following list, Read will pick the first user that meets the criteria, moving to the next criteria if there is a tie
- If the meeting host (on the calendar invite), invited Read, they will always be the owner
- If only non-host participants invited Read, the participant with the highest subscription (Enterprise > Pro > Free) will be the owner
- If there is a tie, then the user with the highest Workspace status (Owner > Admin > Manager > User) will be the owner
- If there is still a tie, then the user with the oldest Read account will be the owner
What happens if the report owner is on a free plan but I'm on a paid plan?
If you invited Read to a meeting, regardless of who owns the meeting, you will always get edit permission on the meeting initially (owners and other editors can still revoke that permission later). If you have a paid plan, your report will also display all of the features available on your plan (e.g. Enterprise users can still get recordings for meetings hosted by Free users).