If you want to remove a user from your Workspace, you can do so at any time from your Manage Workspace page. Only Workspace admins are able to remove users from their Workspace (team managers can only remove users from their team).
Start by going to Manage Workspace > People from your bottom-left menu:
Click on the "People" tab to see a listing of all users in your Workspace:
From this page, click the "..." on the row of the user that you want to remove. This will open a menu where you can then click "Remove from Workspace":
Note that you cannot remove a user from the Workspace if they are the only manager of a team, you'll need to assign another manager for that team first in order to remove them.
What happens after removal?
When a user is removed from a Workspace they will:
- Lose access to Workspace-specific content, like the For Your Workspace page, and any meeting reports that were shared with their Team or Workspace (but not any that were shared with them directly).
- Their account will no longer be on the Workspace's subscription plan, and will most likely revert to being a Free account (unless they had previously paid for Read themselves before joining the Workspace, and are still within the billing period).
- They will otherwise retain access to their account and may continue to use it as they please.
A few things will notably not happen when a user is removed:
- Your Workspace's licenses will not automatically be reduced. Instead, a license will become unused and available for anyone else that you want to add to the Workspace. If you want to remove a license, you can do so from the Plan & Billing page, just note that this won't refund any amount already paid, it will just mean you won't get charged for this license at the start of the next billing cycle.
- They will not automatically lose access to any reports they owned or that were shared explicitly with them. If their name appears on the "People with access" list for a specific report, they will still have access, unless you or someone manually removes them.
For these reasons, if you are trying to offboard an individual from your organization (e.g. if they are leaving your company) then we would recommend deleting the user's account instead of just removing them from the Workspace. Reports from that user will still belong to the Workspace and remain accessible to anyone other than them who had access.
- What is a Workspace?
- How do I set up a Workspace?
- How do I add people to my Workspace?
- How does billing work with a Workspace?