Read's meeting reports are collaborative documents, designed to be shared - with the participants on the call, with other members of your team, or with whoever else you want. "Sharing" with Read can refer to a whole range of functionality, including:
- Granting people access to view/edit meeting reports on Read's website
- Distributing meeting recaps via email or messaging
- Pushing meeting report data out through integrations into other platforms
While there are many ways that a meeting report can be shared with people, this page groups them at a high level into automatic vs manual sharing methods. Reports get shared automatically when they are first generated, based on a set of rules and preferences, after which you can further manage the sharing of the report manually.
While the meeting report owner (and potentially their Workspace admin) has the ultimate say over how their reports will be shared, anyone that also invites Read to the meeting or otherwise receives editor access on the report is able to have some influence on the sharing of the report. Understanding how all of this works is important to ensure that your meeting content is only being shared with the people you want.
Automatic Sharing
When a report is generated after your meeting, it is automatically shared with people based on a combination of rules and preferences. These preferences can come from your choices in your account settings, from preferences that you inherited through your Team or Workspace settings, and from the preferences of other users who invited Read to the meeting.
The rules for automatic sharing are fairly straightforward:
- Sharing starts with the meeting report owner:
- Only users who invite Read are eligible to be the report owner.
- A user will only be listed as the report owner in advance of a meeting if Read can determine that they own the video conferencing call for the meeting. Otherwise a report owner will be assigned from one of the inviting users when the meeting is generated, based on these rules.
- If the owner is identified in advance, they have the option of marking a specific meeting/recurring meeting as private, preventing other users from inviting Read and automatically getting editor access nor the ability to share the report themselves.
- Sharing then continues with any user that successfully invites Read to the meeting:
- Any user who invites Read to the meeting in advance will see their predicted role listed as "Editor" for the upcoming meeting on their Calendar (unless they are the owner, or if the owner has marked the meeting as private).
- If your role is listed as "Editor" or "Owner" for the meeting on your Calendar page, then your sharing and distribution settings will automatically get applied to that meeting report when it is generated.
- Read will combine everyone's preferences together additively, meaning that if you choose to share reports with internal and not external participants, but someone else from your team invites Read and chooses to share with external participants, then external participants will get access.
- The only way to prevent this additive expansion of sharing is if the owner sets the meeting as private. Another way to think of this is that anyone who invites Read to the meeting can opt others in to getting the report, but only the meeting owner can lock others out.
- Workspaces can also influence how reports get shared:
- Users who belong to a Workspace may have their sharing and distribution settings controlled by the Workspace.
- Users who belong to a Team may have their reports automatically shared with their teammates via the Team Report Access setting, if enabled by their Workspace admin.
- Workspace admins will also get access to reports owned by users in their Workspace if they have the Global Report Access setting enabled.
- Note that when admins receive access to a report via the Team Report Access or Global Report Access setting, they will not be listed under "People with access" in the Share Report dialog (we call this "implicit" access).
Here are some of the key articles that were referenced above for further reading:
- How do I manage my sharing and distribution settings?
- How can I automatically share reports with my Team? (Team Report Access)
- How do I view any report within my Workspace? (Global Report Access)
Integrations
Manual Sharing
Manual sharing means that a Read user decided the report for a specific meeting or meeting series should be shared with another individual, Team, or Workspace. They took some conscious action in order to share a particular report with particular people. Note that anyone with editor access on a report can manage explicit sharing for that report.
This article captures the various ways that Read users can explicitly share meeting reports with others:
Integrations
Although not always considered when talking about sharing,